The Books of Ambha Duology

Empire of Sand

Buy From:

Read Preview | Buy Online | Add Goodreads

Locus nominated. Winner of the Jaipur Literature Festival’s RA Award for Debut Writing. Winner of Starburst Magazine’s Brave New Words award 2019. Winner of the British Fantasy Award Sydney J. Bounds Award for Best Newcomer 2019.

A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Tasha Suri’s captivating debut is perfect for readers of City of Brass and The Wrath & the Dawn.

The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited. Unbeknownst to her, she can manipulate the dreams of the gods to alter the face of the world.

When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she is coerced into their service, as they are determined to harness her magic for the glory of the Empire. She must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist the mystics’ cruel agenda — and should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance…

“A stunning and enthralling debut, Empire of Sand thoroughly swept me away. ―S. A. Chakraborty

“A darkly intricate, devastating, and utterly original story about the ways we are bound by those we love.”―R. F. Kuang

This is the future of fantasy: rich, complex, unflinching. Empire of Sand is a stunning achievement.”―Mark Oshiro

Realm of Ash

Buy From:

Read Preview | Buy Online | Add Goodreads

The fate of an empire rests in the hands of a young woman with magical blood and nothing left to lose, and an outcast prince determined to save his family at any cost, in this “dark, melodious, and memorable” new fantasy (Library Journal, starred review) from the author of the award-winning Empire of Sand.

The Ambhan Empire is crumbling. A terrible war of succession hovers on the horizon. The only hope for peace lies in the mysterious realm of ash, where mortals can find what they seek in the echoes of their ancestors’ dreams. But to walk there requires a steep price.

Arwa is determined to make the journey. Widowed by a brutal massacre, she’s pledged service to the royal family and will see that pledge through to the end. She never expected to be joined by Zahir, the disgraced, illegitimate prince who has turned to forbidden magic in a desperate bid to save those he loves.

Together, they’ll walk the bloody path of their shared past. And it will call into question everything they’ve ever believed…including whether the Empire is worth saving at all.

“Those with a penchant for lyrical prose, intricate world building, beautifully imagined characters, compelling immersive folklore…need look no further.” Booklist (starred review)


Upcoming Books

The Jasmine Throne – April 2021

I have a new book, The Jasmine Throne, the start of a new Indian f/f epic fantasy trilogy of vengeance, empire and forbidden magic, coming out in April 2021. See the Acquisition Announcement.

“Inspired by the history and epics of India, THE JASMINE THRONE follows a captive princess and a servant in possession of forbidden magic as they become unlikely allies on a dark journey to save their empire from a tyrant king. With her signature “lyrical prose, intricate world building, beautifully imagined characters, and compelling immersive folklore,” (Booklist) Suri has created a sweeping tale about powerful women looking to claim their rightful inheritances, replete with grand and ancient magic, and set in a world where lush forests and crumbling temples have secrets at their hearts. We are so excited for you to read it next year!”

Add the book on Goodreads, or sign up for my newsletter for updates.


Wuthering Heights – Summer 2022

Good news – I’m going to be writing a YA historical retelling of Wuthering Heights for Feiwel & Friends, as part of a series of ‘reclaimed’ classic novels and stories. Read more about the whole series here at Publisher’s Weekly!

Here is the announcement from Publisher’s Marketplace (which is locked to subscribers):

“Author of EMPIRE OF SAND, REALM OF ASH, and upcoming THE JASMINE THRONE Tasha Suri’s untitled Wuthering Heights retelling, a debut YA historical that draws on the history of lascar sailors and the mixed race children of East India Company officers, to Emily Settle at Feiwel and Friends, in a nice deal, for publication in summer 2022, by Laura Crockett at TriadaUS Literary Agency (world).”

You can add the book on Goodreads or sign up for my newsletter for updates.